First Baptist Church of Oak Park’s present facility was built in 1921 with the Community Center and Preschool added in 1927. It was designed by E. E. Roberts, a contemporary of Frank Lloyd Wright’s.
Our church building is notable for its size, beauty and functionality. It has 110
rooms, including a large and beautiful Sanctuary, Fellowship Hall (equipped as
gymnasium and containing a full stage), a chapel, a dining room, large kitchen, office
suite, a Parlor, educational rooms and offices for the Preschool and Kindergarten,
Sunday School rooms, Nursery, Youth room, Stephen Ministry room, Cloister Room
and Narthex, used for gatherings and as hospitality areas, and other rooms and
Throughout the building one will notice the use of Christian symbols in glass, carved
wood and molded plaster. The Sanctuary has four magnificent stained glass
windows. Its two unique window complexes to the east and west celebrate the
ministry of the laity and the ministry of the clergy.
Major repairs and renovation have been accomplished throughout the years,
including the establishment of an elevator serving three floors; tuck pointing of the
exterior; major repairs to the roof; handicapped accessibility; air conditioning of the
offices, Preschool and Kindergarten, Dining Room and the Fellowship Hall; and the
introduction of a state of the art organ two years ago.
The congregation has consistently understood its stewardship of the building.
Building fund campaigns to support major repair needs have been accomplished,
including the current campaign, to ensure that the building supports the needs of
the congregation and can extend its hospitality to the other groups that use it, from
the community and beyond.